Cosimo de’ Medici

Alternatives:Cosimo di Medici.Cosimo von Medici.

Cosimo de’ Medici was a statesman, banker and patron of the arts who guided the politics of his native Florence for decades and made a significant contribution to its cultural revival.

Machu Picchu

Frühmorgens im wunderschönen Machu Picchu.

Machu Picchu is the contemporary name given to a llacta -an ancient Andean Inca settlement- built before the 15th century, located in the Eastern Cordillera of southern Peru, in the Andes mountain range at 2430 meters above sea level.

Republic of Venice

Flagge von Venedig.

The Republic of Venice after the city’s emblem, the Lion of St. Mark, also known as the Republic of St. Mark or the Republic of the Lion, was from the 7th century to the present.

Malacca Sultanate

Die Ausdehnung des Sultanats im 15. Jahrhundert, während der Herrschaft von Mansur Shah.

The Sultanate of Malacca was a Malay sultanate located in what is now the state of Malacca, Malaysia, founded by the Malay ruler Parameswara initially in 1402 the sultanate as a Hindu kingdom and converted in 1409 to Islam because of the marriage of the princess of Pasai.

Lan Xang

Königreich Lan Xang im Jahr 1400 n. Chr.

The Kingdom of Lan Xang was founded in 1354 by Fa Ngum, a prince of Mueang Sua, today’s Laotian city of Luang Prabang.

Timurid Empire

Flagge des Timuridenreiches.

The Timurid or Gurkani or Turan Empire was a Turko-Mongolian dominion that extended into the present-day states of Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Iran, the southern Caucasus region, Iraq, Kuwait, Afghanistan, much of Central Asia, as well as parts of Russia, India, Pakistan, Syria, and Turkey.


Das Foto zeigt samurische Lezgins, die am Aufstand von Scheich M. Stulski im Süden Dagestans teilgenommen haben.

The Lezghins are a Dagestani people, one of the indigenous peoples of the Caucasus, historically living in southern Dagestan and northern Azerbaijan.

Italian city-states

Die italienischen Stadtstaaten im Jahr 1499.

Italian city-states are the political phenomenon of small independent states that existed in the ninth and fifteenth centuries, mainly in the central and northern part of the Apennine Peninsula.


Südbritannien im neunten Jahrhundert.

Wessex was one of the seven Anglo-Saxon kingdoms that existed from 519 to the unification of England by Atelstan in 927.

Jōmon period

Steinstatue, späte Jomon-Periode, Nationalmuseum Tokio.

The Jōmon period or Jōmon era is one of the fourteen traditional subdivisions of Japanese history.